Church Altar 1884
This is the altar referenced in the Trinity Church building specifications dated 1883: built by Kalbfleisch & Schaefer, the Tavistock company given the contract for carpentry work for the "new" church: and in place when the church was consecrated in 1884.
In the early days the altar was stained a dark colour and almost entirely covered with altar cloths. Coincident with the interior redecoration in 1944 it was painted in soft muted colours. The altar was used up until 1969 when the church was redecorated in the current style.
During its 85 years of use, over the years 1,704 individuals were confirmed before this altar.
In 1969 the altar was put in the church basement where it sat for over 40 years. In 2010 it was brought upstairs, carefully refinished and now stands as a reminder of the longevity of this congregation.